How I Really Spent My Christmas

So, my last post was about how I had the whole Christmas thing under control… and then nothing for a month.  Shortly after I wrote that last post, I injured my dominant hand.  I walked around for a few days with it hurting every time I did anything and when I made it to the doctor’s, he put me in a splint that immobilized my wrist and thumb.

Suddenly, I couldn’t do anything.  I couldn’t clean.  I couldn’t cook.  I couldn’t write by hand.  I couldn’t type.  I couldn’t wrap gifts.  I had trouble just changing diapers.  So my Christmas totally did not go to plan as conceived in my previous post.  My house got dirty, I let go of my expectations of myself as far as sending out Christmas cards, wrapping gifts (as opposed to using gift bags) and baking lots of things.  Nothing got baked until my mommy got here.

But we had a great Christmas anyway.  My mom came down and helped me take care of little man, wrap the gifts that didn’t fit in bags, bake gingerbread cookies and have fun.  She said those three magic words to me: “Take a nap.”  I decided the messy house was less important than going out and having fun, so we did lots and lots of that.  Liam is finally old enough to appreciate going to special stuff, so we all had a blast going to the zoo and the aquarium.  He even took an interest in opening (some of) his gifts this year.

I hope you all had a magical Christmas and a Happy New Year.  I’m not making any New Year’s Resolutions this year.  I think I just don’t believe in doing that anyway.  I sincerely hope that our 2012 is better than our 2011 (which I hope is better than our 2010 as well).  And I hope you all have a year full of prosperity and growth and fun.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

